Angry with the Naked God on a Crucifix

“It’s an offensive Gospel. I know. I remember having a conversation with a young lady who scoffed at my wanting to be part of a Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church. She said, “I can’t understand why they all worship a naked God on a cross.””

KEY PHRASE…

The Rowdy Hobbit

images

To make a long story short, I have a beautiful crucifix hanging over my bed. It came to me free of charge from a Roman Catholic organization called Families for Christ. I’ve had it since the summer of 2013, and it’s been a blessing–as well a convicting presence. Though it is just metal and wood, it calls to mind the humbling nature of the Incarnation and awesome power of Our Lord’s Passion in one grisly image.

And it angers me. That is, I’m apt to say it frustrates me. As a Christian, I realize that I put down everything to follow Jesus. I’m called to holiness. I should take up my cross and follow Him.  This was most apparent in my vows at Holy Baptism. I promised to denounce Satan and all his lies and works. I accepted the fact that I was created anew in the Son of God…

View original post 1,008 more words

Leave a Reply

