First they came for the *Others

Left at the Lights

“Sorry, I know it is really terrible and fucked up that so many people got arrested yesterday, but please don’t compare this police response to the rise of Nazism or make lazy claims of ‘creeping fascism’. It’s offensive, shows a complete misunderstanding of what ‘fascism’ is, and totally disorients any opposition to racism or police aggression.”

A person, presumably a white male (based on the information I was able to glean) said this about a piece I wrote regarding my fears that fascism was on the rise in Great Britain last year when the far right mobilised in response to the murder of Lee Rigby. My fears felt real, I wasn’t being sensationalist to bring in the readers; I had been at a demo (the last of many) where white supremacists were given the time and space to spout their hateful ideology, bringing terror to the people of the area…

View original post 1,478 more words

Leave a Reply

