Gamergate Target Brianna Wu is Risking Her Life; 43 Death Threats Received

Vox Day…

The Lyrical Elitist

Gamergate Target Brianna Wu is Risking Her Life; 43 Death Threats Received [Video]

This weekend, a man wearing a skull mask posted a video on YouTube outlining his plans to murder me. I know his real name. I documented it and sent it to law enforcement, praying something is finally done. I have received these death threats and 43 others in the last five months.

This experience is the basis of a Law & Order: Special Victims Unit episode airing Wednesday called “Intimidation Game.” I gave in and watched the preview today. The main character appears to be an amalgamation of me, Zoe Quinn, and Anita Sarkeesian, three of the primary targets of the hate group called GamerGate.

My name is Brianna Wu. I develop video games for your phone. I lead one of the largest professional game-development teams of women in the field. Sometimes I speak out on women in tech issues. I’m doing everything I can to save my life except be silent.

The…

View original post 1,093 more words

Leave a Reply

